Bosnia and Herzegovina and Austria ratified the Istanbul Convention.

(Brussels, 14.11.2013) Two countries have ratified the Istanbul Convention in the last 7 days: Bosnia Herzegovina (on the 07/11/2013) and Austria (on the 14/11/2013)!

Only 3 more ratifications are needed for the Istanbul Convention to enter into fore!

The implementation of the Council of Europe Convention on preventing and combating violence against women and domestic violence, the Istanbul Convention, will make a enormous difference in the eradication of violence against women as it sets standards for comprehensive measures to prevent and combat violence against women, recognising that “violence against women is one of the crucial social mechanisms by which women are forced into a subordinate position compared to men” (Preamble).

7 countries in total have ratified the Istanbul Convention until now: Albania, Austria, Bosnia i Herzegovina, Italy, Montenegro, Portugal and Turkey.

Latest video

EWL event "Progress towards a Europe free from all forms of male violence" to mark the 10th aniversary of the Istanbul Convention, 12 May 2021.

Facebook Feed

Get Involved